Just in time for Passover, Manischewitz has expanded its line of Kosher products that are Gluten
The Manischewitz® brand was founded in a small bakery built to make Passover matzo in 1888 by Rabbi Dov Behr Manischewitz in Cincinnati, Ohio. It is now the leader in Kosher foods.
Manischewitz already has a large selection of Gluten Free and Kosher products that include noodles, sweets and cakes. They are now offering:
- Don’t feel left out at the Seder (or anytime) with new Manischewitz® Gluten-Free Matzo-Style Squares and Crackers. Available for Passover and year-round, these new products are a great alternative for anyone looking for a Gluten-Free product or just something new. My family thought these were some of the best crackers they have sampled.
- My kids also loved the Magic Max Chocolate Chip Cookie Cereal. It reminded them of the Cookie Crisp cereal from pre-GF days. They were actually afraid to eat it at first because they did not believe it was GF. Who doesn't like cereal shaped like mini-chocolate chip cookies?
Other Gluten Free Options include:
- Red Velvet Macaroons
- Almond Butter Spread. The all-natural, peanut-free Almond Butter is a great peanut butter alternative.
- And new from the Guiltless Gourmet line of snacks from Manischewitz® is Flaxseed Crunch Bars, available in two flavors, Almond Cranberry Flaxseed Crunch Bar and Cashew Cranberry Flaxseed. My daughter, who is pretty picky, actually liked these bars and asked for them in her lunch. These individually wrapped snacks are made from the finest ingredients and are Vegan and Gluten-Free and are high in Omega-3, B Vitamins, Fiber, and Antioxidants due to the flaxseed.
The products are certified Gluten Free and made in a Gluten Free Facility.
"The Passover dietary rules restrict the use of grains that can ferment and become leavened: wheat, barley, spelt, oats and rye. During Passover only unleavened grains are allowed. Thus wheat flour is permitted only if it is baked into Matzah (unleavened bread). However, in an interesting twist (from the food allergy perspective), it is permitted to bake wheat flour into Matzah and then grind those Matzah back up to create "Matzah meal" to use as an ingredient in something else. Therefore, foods that are Kosher for Passover are not necessarily free of these grains."
Manischewitz products can be purchased ON-LINE from Manischewitz or found on the shelves at local health food stores and Super Target, Kroger, Publix, and Ingles Markets. You can also find some Manischewitz products on Amazon.com such as Manischewitz Passover Coconut Macaroons, Gluten Free.
Disclaimer: I was provided with free product to sample, but was not paid to write this review. The opinions in this post are my own.