Hershey's has finally done it - after years of telling us to "read the label" they have come out with a list of Gluten Free Products and they have acknowledged that they are using the standards proposed by the FDA to define gluten free!
I think this is great news - just a couple of weeks ago I emailed them again about candy and got the standard response. At least they were consistent on it, but I wondered what exactly gluten free meant to Hershey's. Note that the list contains the candy that Hershey's has consistently said is GF. You just get an extra level of comfort knowing they are defining GF as proposed by the FDA.
You can access the list on the Hershey's website and, for convenience, I have posted it here. Note that seasonal candies (other than Hershey Kisses and Peppermint Patties in seasonal bags) are not included on the list.
Why not send Hershey's a note and thank them for taking this step!
The Following was Posted from the Hershey's website:
Hershey is committed to providing products that meet your dietary needs, and many people today are interested in gluten-free foods.
A food bearing a gluten-free claim does not contain the protein from wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticole, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods.
For your convenience, the current products listed below have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten free using standards proposed by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Please note this list is not all inclusive as we have other gluten-free confections.
The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products. Because, on occasion, the list of ingredients can change, we strongly encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package each time before you make a purchase.