Our Indian summer vanished on the turn of a dime and we have been greeted head on with fall - it is cooler and most notably wetter here in Seattle. And as October 1st approaches what is on the minds of my kids (especially my six year old boy who has asked me repeated "when can we order his costume?"), Halloween of course.
With Halloween comes . . . you got it, candy. We still employ the same technique we did in the very beginning for weeding out the "can not haves." We generally trick-or-treat with friends, then all of the kids come back and splash their candy on the family room carpet. After carefully sorting and counting, they engage in a wall street-type exchange with everyone ending up with what they can have and more importantly want. While this newly acquired commodity is treasured for a day or two, come Easter I inevitably find a bag of Halloween candy stashed away in the pantry that I throw away.
On to what is safe for this year.
THIS IS JUST A STARTING POINT - ALWAYS DOUBLE CHECK ALL INGREDIENTS YOURSELF. OF COURSE, IF YOU FIND ANY ERRORS PLEASE LET ME KNOW.
THIS LIST IS BY NO MEANS EXHAUSTIVE!! Some candy manufactures offer more gluten free products, such as Hershey's, but the following items are the only ones they would confirm in a list-type format over the phone. SEE THE LINKS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS POST FOR MORE INFORMATION.
Topping our list this year is Old Fashioned Candy Corn by Zachary candy company:
I am in receipt of your letter in regards to the Zachary Confections Candy Corn. We currently do not use any gluten containing ingredients in the manufacturing of our candy corn. I hope that this information is helpful to you.
"Smarties® and our entire line of products are gluten free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with "0 11206", you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease."
Smarties, Smarties Lollies
Hershey 1-800-468-1714 The company will only confirm that the following items are GF. For other candy they recommend reading the label which accurately list all of the big 8 allergens such as wheat. The label will not indicate gluten that is derived from a source other than wheat, so you are advised to call if you see a product that has an ingredient that may contain gluten and they can verify over the phone the source of the ingredient.
jolly rancher hard candy and lollipops
kisses (milk chocolate)
milk chocolate bar (original w/ almonds)
york peppermint patty
"The modified food starch that we use in our candies in corn starch. We are in the process of updating our package labels to reflect products that are gluten free. Our gluten free brands are:
MIKE AND IKE® Brand Candies,
HOT TAMALES® Brand Candies,
PEEPS® Marshmallow Candies,
PEANUT CHEW® Brand candies,
TEENEE BEANEE® Jelly Beans and
JUST BORN® Jelly Bean.
This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlethem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging. Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility. We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any gluten information on products that might be packaged elsewhere. For further questions, we recommend consumers call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453."
NESTLÉ® BABY RUTH®
(Regular and Sugar Free)
NESTLÉ® OH HENRY! ®
(NOT including Butterfinger Crisp and Butterfinger Stixx)
NESTLÉ® MILK CHOCOLATE
WONKA® PIXY STIX®
WONKA® LIK-M-AID® FUN DIP™
WONKA® LAFFY TAFFY®
(Laffy Taffy Rope and Fruitarts Chews)
mary jane peanut butter kisses
canada mint & wintergreen lozenges
haviland thin mints and candy stix
haviland peppermint & wintergreen patties
squirrel nut caramels and squirrel nut zippers
banana split and mint julep chews
"All Tootsie products are gluten-, peanut-, and nut product-free. Tootsie does not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, either as ingredients or as part of the manufacturing process."
charms blow pops
tootsie rolls and fruit rolls
double bubble bubble gum
Dum Dum Pops
Dum Dum Canes and Dum Dum Chewy Pops
"do not contain the gluten protein found in wheat, barley, rye, or oats.
We have contacted our suppliers on the ingredients we use, including sugar, corn syrup, citric, malic, lactic acid, ascorbic acid, artificial flavors & colors, starch, release agents, and processing aids. These products do not contain the gluten protein that causes a problem for people with Celiac Sprue."