One more thing to check off your to-do list.
Finding your favorite gluten free candy canes.
Natural Candy Canes, 12-pack
by Pure Fun
Eating gluten free means knowing what is in your food. For us, this included the awareness of all of the other yucky stuff in our food such as GMO's and high fructose corn syrup etc. So if you are going the extra step of seeking out gluten free candy canes, why not make them as healthy as possible. Pure Fun candy canes are synthetic dye-free and are flavored with natural peppermint oil. They are also vegan and free of GMO's, wheat, gluten, soy, nuts, dairy and eggs. Produced in a nut free facility.
Ingredients: Unrefined sugar, glucose syrup, natural flavor, natural color, water, citric acid.
Order them here: Natural Candy Canes
That being said, I do understand how great it is just to be able to pick up a candy cane at the grocery store and not worry about it.
Here are some popular brands that are gluten free:
Bob's Candy Canes are made by Farley's and Sathers Candy Co. The label will state any allergens:
Farley's & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. does not provide lists to consumers of food items that do not contain specific allergens or items that are gluten free.
Package labels contain the most current nutritional, ingredient, and allergen information the company can provide.
All products containing or packaged on lines with other products containing allergens maintain current packaging with our allergen statement on the package.Bob's Allergy Statement
LifeSaver Candy Canes: Are made by Kraft, which will list gluten as wheat, rye, barley or oat.
Spangler Candy Canes: There website states that:
Candy Canes, Cane Classics, Dum Dum Canes and Dum Dum Chewy Pops do not contain the gluten protein found in wheat, barley, rye, or oats.
We have contacted our suppliers on the ingredients we use, including sugar, corn syrup, citric, malic, lactic acid, ascorbic acid, artificial flavors & colors, starch, release agents, and processing aids. These products do not contain the gluten protein that causes a problem for people with Celiac Sprue.
Check it out yourself at:Spangler Allergy Statement.
Let me know if you have any to add to the list!
Yours truly, www.glutenfreemom.com